Not a Fan?

Are you a fan or a follower?    

Those of you who know the context of the question have likely heard of the Not a Fan book by Kyle Idleman that asks the bold question “are you a follower of Jesus”?  If you haven’t read the book then I would caution you against answering just now.   This is not a simple “yes” or “no” question as you might think. Rather, it is one that requires a much deeper answer, or as Idleman terms it a “definition of the relationship”. 

If you haven’t read the book I would encourage you to get a copy and read it.  Then read it again.  Then share it with someone else. I recently finished reading it and it is hands down one of the best books I have ever read.  Idleman’s question challenges us to seriously consider both the context and the consequences of following, really following, Jesus.   What is our relationship with Jesus?  Are we a casual fan or a committed follower?  As Not a Fan points out; being a follower of Jesus, a true follower, requires us to make that commitment and to daily live out Luke 9:23

“If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself, take up his cross daily and follow me.”   Luke 9:23 (New International Version)

Being a true follower of Christ is not designed to be comfortable, if it is we clearly are not doing it right.  Being a follower is all about stepping outside our comfort zone and following the will of Jesus each and every day.  It begs the question “what has it cost you or I to follow Jesus”?   Sadly some of us can’t think of one thing as an answer.   Personally I can say that my faith has cost me, even recently.  It seems there is nothing like starting a faith-based blog to help you cull your Facebook friends list and Twitter followers.  

Now the book Not a Fan is available as a movie and for a limited time you can watch the entire film online for free.  I encourage you to take some time and watch it for yourself and then share it with others via Facebook or another social media. This is a message that begs to be shared with others.

So; are you a fan?

Take 78:59 and watch the Not a Fan film before you answer.  And answer carefully because once you do your life will never be the same.

I will gladly give you my answer, I am not a Fan.

About meicemen

Kind of ironic isn't it that you have to fit a few words about yourself into a small box..... I am so many things - a husband and father, an avid sports fan, coach, church planter in training. My blog A Million Points of Grace touches on many of these things that "make up me" and my Christian journey on this earth.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not a Fan?

  1. Benton Sabiston says:

    I like this post, really enjoyed this one in fact. Thank you for giving me something to think about in how I think and act, am I a fan or a follower? Great question to have to answer.

  2. Liana says:

    I finished this book yesterday. Mind blown.

    • meicemen says:

      It is an amazing book. Glad you enjoyed it and I encourage you to share it with others and get some discussions going about it. If you haven’t read them already I would also suggest Radical and it’s follow up Radical Together by David Platt – both will continue to challenge you and how you choose to live out your faith. Wishing you an amazing and fulfilling 2012!!!

Leave a Reply

