Opening Doors

Every Thursday night is Men’s study group at my church.   On any given week there is anywhere from 4 to 8 or 9 guys meeting for bible study and group discussion and prayer.      Usually we follow the Man in the Mirror video curriculums and over the past several weeks I’ve really come to look forward to Thursday’s and the study group.   Last night we decided to do something different.

We watched a movie.   On a week between finishing one study topic series and starting another we decided to take a break and just hang out for a night and watch a movie together.   Together with some microwave popcorn and a couple of bags of party snack mix we sat and watched Facing the Giants.

Let me get the fair disclosure out-of-the-way; I love Facing the Giants.  It’s a favorite movie around our house and despite owning it on DVD every time it is played on GMC or INSP or another TV channel I seem to always find myself watching it. 

For those who have not seen the movie, go rent it.   At the risk of a spoiler alert, the movie tells the story of how a Christian high school football coach and his team learn that honoring God in all areas of your life can lead to having God’s greatness displayed for you each and every day.    How we serve an awesome and mighty God who loves us and with His honor in mind we can face the giants that come our way in life be they personal, professional or even spiritual.  

Good advice we all need to be reminded of now and again.

In particular there is one scene in the movie that stuck out at me last night as I watched.     The lead character is down and depressed, his team is headed for yet another losing season and he is struggling to find his purpose as a husband, coach and man of God.    During this time he prays to God for guidance and asks for a sign for what direction he should take in his life.   He shortly thereafter is visited by someone who shares with him the following scripture and reminds him that God is not finished with him where he is presently and to bloom where he is planted while he awaits God’s next chapter:

“This is what the One who is holy and true, who holds the key of David, says. When he opens a door, no one can close it. And when he closes it, no one can open it. I know what you do. I have put an open door before you, which no one can close. I know you have little strength, but you have obeyed my teaching and were not afraid to speak my name.”   Revelation 3: 7-8 (New Century Version)

Now I’ve watched the movie at least a dozen times if not more and while I’d heard that verse quoted all of those times it never jumped out at me like it did last night.    You see like the coach in the movie, I too have been praying and asking God for some direction in life.   Both my wife and I feel a calling beyond where and what we are currently doing and we have been praying and seeking God’s direction on how we should respond.    If you have ever been in a similar situation then you know how it’s not either a short or necessarily crystal clear process sometimes.  It can be very easy to get bogged down in the business of waiting and seeking and completely forget that in the process of that waiting for direction there is still work to be done for the kingdom. 

We need to always be seeking to bloom where we are planted.

God opens and closes doors; there is no doubt in my mind about that.  In fact God opens doors that no one else could.  But if we constantly stand around solely focused on waiting for that door to be opened for us we miss the opportunity to look out the window and see the world in need around us.   I needed to be reminded of that.  While I wait on the Lord for direction I need to still continue to build his Kingdom wherever I am at; be it work, home, church or elsewhere.  I think many of us need that reminder as well.

Who knows, you might discover that the door you were waiting for was actually a picture window slider in front of you all the time.

About meicemen

Kind of ironic isn't it that you have to fit a few words about yourself into a small box..... I am so many things - a husband and father, an avid sports fan, coach, church planter in training. My blog A Million Points of Grace touches on many of these things that "make up me" and my Christian journey on this earth.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Opening Doors

  1. Kirdan says:

    I’d never heard of either the movie Facing the Giants or the Man In The Mirror will have to check them both out. Thanks.

    • meicemen says:

      If you enjoyed Facing the Giants then you should also see the other two movies from the same folks (Sherwood Pictures) Flywheel, Fireproof and the latest film Courageous. I Highly recommend all of them to everyone. If you are married watch Fireproof with your spouse, If you are a parent then you need to see Courageous and watch it with you family, it’s that important.

  2. B Weisland says:

    Great post! Enjoy your blog and look forward to them each week and have shared so many with friends on Facebook and Twitter. They really make me think! Please keep up the good work!

    • meicemen says:

      Thank you so much for the kind words! So happy that you enjoy the posts and are sharing them with others. Please keep helping to spread the word about A Million Points of Grace.

Leave a Reply

