Leap Day

I once read a business time management study that figured on average we spend about 2 years of our life returning phone calls to people who don’t answer.  Those voice mails and messages left add up over the years. The same study figured that we also spend over 6 months waiting at traffic lights and over 8 months reading junk and spam mails.  Taken as themselves these individual acts don’t seem so enormous, but when you add them together major chunks of our day and lives are being eaten up by the mundane.

On a day like today where we have an extra day on the calendar, a so-called “Leap Day”, the numbers just continue to grow.  It’s easy to see today as an anomaly on our calendar that only comes around every few years, but there is a larger issue.

“Teach me, O LORD, about the end of my life. Teach me about the number of days I have left so that I may know how temporary my life is. Indeed, you have made the length of my days [only] a few inches. My life span is nothing compared to yours. Certainly, everyone alive is like a whisper in the wind. Each person who walks around is like a shadow. They are busy for no reason. They accumulate riches without knowing who will get them. And now, Lord, what am I waiting for? My hope is in you!”  Psalm 39: 4-7 (GOD’S WORD Translation)

The gift of our time here on Earth is but seconds to an eternal God in heaven.  As David says in verse 5 “you made the length of my day only a few inches”, one translation uses the term “handbreadths” which gives you a great visual reference.  Compared to the length of eternity our time span is akin to only the length of our hands.  Every minute is a gift from God, an irretrievable slice of eternity for us to spend wisely or waste away.

When we waste our days doing things other than advancing the cause of Christ we are really just wasting our time.  Time is the most precious commodity that God gives us as humans.  Time to spend with family and friends, time to enjoy the rewards of hard work and pleasures of life, and yes time to dedicate ourselves to serving and pleasing Him.  As verse 6 reminds us we should not be “busy for no reason”.

Are you wasting time today?  What about yesterday? Tomorrow?

Yes, we still have those phone calls to make and errands to run and stop lights to wait at and blogs to read (shameless plug) and the list goes on. But what about the rest of our day?   Are we using the majority of our time to advance the Kingdom?  

Are we making our days matter, even the Leap Days?

About meicemen

Kind of ironic isn't it that you have to fit a few words about yourself into a small box..... I am so many things - a husband and father, an avid sports fan, coach, church planter in training. My blog A Million Points of Grace touches on many of these things that "make up me" and my Christian journey on this earth.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Leap Day

  1. Mel says:

    Haha, this post made me feel a lot better about the fact that I never answer my phone or check my voicemails and am honestly completely flaky about ever calling people back. 🙂

    But it also makes me feel much more urgent with the time I have left with my family and friends who are still so far from Christ. Thanks for the reminder in this post.

    • meicemen says:

      I think we all are guilty of not returning calls and emails (or is it just you and me that do that?) 🙂

      Time is a gift from God, glad to help remind both of us (you and myself) to make sure to use that time wisely!

Leave a Reply

