Fearful and Wonderful

So I gave my family personality tests a couple of months ago.  Yes, it was just another fun Wednesday night in the Phinney house.   Actually it was a lot of fun. It all began when my oldest mentioned during dinner that night (yes we do sometimes sit around our table as a family for a meal) that he had taken the Myers-Briggs in his psychology class at school.   Being in HR I know a thing or two about Myers-Briggs and other personality tests and have used them for staff training and development, so the conversation led to explaining the test and the letter combinations to the rest of the family.  At the request of my other two kids I found an online test and got everyone else in the family to take it.

The results were interesting.   Everyone’s personality type matched them and it was fun to see how the various Myers-Briggs letters lined up for each one of the kids and my wife.   It also reminded me how three kids from the same two parents who are all raised together and living under the same roof can be so different and so wonderfully unique.

“I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well.”  Psalm 139:14 (New King James Version)

Each one of my kids, my wife and I are all different people and different personalities, yet each one of us is a reflection of our heavenly father.  It is by God’s design that one of my kids is an extrovert while the rest of us are introverts.  How my oldest and I are nearly mirror images of each other, save for a couple of factors, yet my other son is nearly a polar opposite and my daughter is a blend of both.   Only God could paint a picture with that bold and vibrant a color palate.    He is a master artist and his living handiwork is all around us.

Psalm 127:3 tells us that “Children are a gift from the Lord: they are a reward from him.”  (New Living Translation 2007) My wife and I have been blessed with three amazing children who are now teenagers, my oldest graduates from High School in just a couple of months. Each one of our kids is their own unique individual and each has been created by God for their own purpose and mission in life.  We look forward to watching them as they enter into adulthood and tackle those missions.

This has me thinking about you and me and what God has created us to be and do.  Each and every one of us is the work of our Creator and each one of us is endowed with exactly the personality, skills, and knowledge we need for our life journey.  David’s psalm reminds us of the awesome nature of the human being and in being a human.  The same hands that formed the universe created each of us.  There is more to each of us, more within each of us than we can guess or imagine.

If God gives you a gift, He intends for you to use it.

What gifts do you have that you might not be using?  Let’s remind ourselves that we are fearfully and wonderfully made and that our very being is a direct design from God for his purpose and plan.  Lets start using those gifts.

“Realize today, God didn’t make anyone inferior. He didn’t make any person second class. No, you are a masterpiece! You are fully loaded and totally equipped for the race that’s been designed for you!”  Joel Osteen

About meicemen

Kind of ironic isn't it that you have to fit a few words about yourself into a small box..... I am so many things - a husband and father, an avid sports fan, coach, church planter in training. My blog A Million Points of Grace touches on many of these things that "make up me" and my Christian journey on this earth.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fearful and Wonderful

  1. Pingback: Self-Reflection « My 2 cents

Leave a Reply

