God’s Got This

As I wrote about last week, last Monday night I suddenly found myself among the ranks of the unemployed. The last couple of weeks have been ones of readjustment.   Getting used to a new daily routine that includes staying home and doing projects around the house instead of going to the office.   Part of that daily routine is the morning ritual of checking a variety of online job boards and websites for new positions and “help wanted” ads and making the necessary applications.   To say it’s been a switch from my 7:30 am office job would be an understatement.

One theme that has kept reoccurring these past two weeks is one of God’s plan and provision.   Both my wife and I have had numerous, almost daily, reminders in some form another that God protects and provides for his children.   Be it a daily bible verse, devotional reading, words from friends or fellow church members all have in someway played a part in reminding us that we are not alone and that God is in control.  There is a greater plan at work and we are part of it.

“I am the Lord, the God of all mankind. Is anything too hard for me?” Jeremiah 32:27 (New International Version)

I would be really easy to get totally down and out over these past couple of weeks.  And I will admit I’ve not always been 100% sunny and cheerful, but to give into the fears, doubts and “what ifs” serve no purpose but to perpetuate defeat.    Satan loves to punch us when we are vulnerable and he delights in kicking us when we are down.  To focus on the negative in a situation only plays into his hand.

Instead, we should be looking forward and standing firm in the promises of God.  Luke in his gospel reminds us “Nothing, you see, is impossible with God.” Luke 1:37 (The Message)  Our God is a God who is firmly in control.   Nothing we face is too much for him.  No problem is too tough, no situation beyond His abilities.  He is fully capable; even when, particularly when, we don’t feel very capable at all.

When we face whatever life throws at us God is always looking at us and our worries and fears and saying “don’t worry, I’ve got this.”  The old hymn reminds us to “take it to the Lord in prayer” and so often we fail to remember that part of the equation, that step in the process, prayer.   Whatever we have on our heart and our mind we need to lay that in prayer before the Lord and release it to Him.

I need to let go and remember who has my back in every situation of life.

I need to remember that God’s got this.

About meicemen

Kind of ironic isn't it that you have to fit a few words about yourself into a small box..... I am so many things - a husband and father, an avid sports fan, coach, church planter in training. My blog A Million Points of Grace touches on many of these things that "make up me" and my Christian journey on this earth.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

