Weather as a Metaphor

It has been raining a lot lately, both literally and figuratively.   I’m getting tired of the rain.

The physical rain from the weather that has made the last couple of weeks more clouding and wet than anything else.  The back yard is a mud puddle for the dog to tromp around in every time he goes out; the back field and garden spot are under standing water deep enough to drown several small animals.  It’s cold, it’s wet, and it’s dreary.

Then there is the figurative weather.  As I’ve already shared in prior posts I am approaching nearly 2 months of being unemployed.  Anyone who has ever gone more than a couple of weeks without a job knows exactly how I’m feeling.  I’m feeling the weight, both real and imagined, of my ongoing joblessness and it is many a day hanging like the rain clouds outside my windows.

The weather is a metaphor for where I’ve been lately.  Dark and depressed, cloudy and even a bit cold. Even writing here on A Million Points of Grace has been a challenge.  Usually I’m turning out three or four items a week and lining them up on auto schedule for publishing at a rate of on average two a week (just one of the secrets of blog publishing).  These last few weeks it’s been a challenge to even get one written and posted let alone any on standby reserve.

The weather is a metaphor for where I’ve been lately.

“Dear ones, don’t be surprised when you experience your trial by fire. It is not something strange and unusual, but it is something you should rejoice in. In it you share the Anointed’s sufferings, and you will be that much more joyful when His glory is revealed.”  1 Peter 4:12-13 (The Voice New Testament)*

Peter’s words jumped out at me last night during my weekly men’s Bible study at church.  The passage being referenced was actually 1 Peter 4:11 but like the over achiever I am I kept reading and verses 12 and 13 hit me like a sledge-hammer or a big lightning bolt (notice how I keep the weather related metaphors going).   While I’ve been sitting here feeling moody and pulling the wet blanket of my temporary circumstances over my head and let it define my days, I’ve been missing the bigger picture.   This is a test of  a grand scale.   Am I going to just give lip service to all that grace and faith and walking on water stuff I talk and write about or am I actually going to live it?   Do I practice what I preach?  Will I still practice it when it’s dark and gloomy around me? Will I stand and walk or sink in the wind and rain?

The weather is a metaphor for where I’ve been lately.   The key word there being been.  Not where I need to be or plan to be, but where I’ve allowed myself to be.

The truth is I have no idea when employment may come my way.  It could be tomorrow it could be next month it could be whenever.  But I cannot let that steal my joy, steal my passion for building the kingdom and ministry, my love of writing and communicating with others.  My desire to grow as a Christian leader and live daily for God.  I never liked tests much in school, but they were always easier when you knew the answers to the questions and this test has but one question and one correct answer.

Who do you trust more, yourself or your Savior.  I’ve got the answer, now I just need to live it out.

The weather may have been a metaphor but it does not need to be a barometer.

*Special thanks to the folks at Thomas Nelson Publishing for giving me an advance preview copy of their upcoming version of the New Testament called The Voice New Testament.  A full review of The Voice will be coming in a future blog post soon.

About meicemen

Kind of ironic isn't it that you have to fit a few words about yourself into a small box..... I am so many things - a husband and father, an avid sports fan, coach, church planter in training. My blog A Million Points of Grace touches on many of these things that "make up me" and my Christian journey on this earth.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weather as a Metaphor

  1. DPagos says:

    This is a magnificent website. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back to read the newest articles. Blessings!

  2. asd539 says:

    Ha!! As a writer I always need to remember to proof read. *They mean I am……, LOL

    • meicemen says:

      Thanks so much for your encouragement and for stopping by! Welcome!! It is so true that God always has the plan, even when we can’t (or won’t) see it – He is faithful and working us to his glory.

  3. asd539 says:

    Awesome post. One thing I do know about trials is that they are a motivating factor for me. The mean I am on the right track with God and His plan for my future. We just need to push through them and know that God’s perfect plan for our lives will come into being. God always takes the bad and turns it around for our good and His glory. Glad I found your blog, keep doing it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

