40 Days in the Desert

Ok so it hasn’t been 40 days (yet) but it has been awhile since I’ve written anything new.  For that I owe you an apology and a bit of an explanation.

As shared prior the last few months have been a rollercoaster of ups and downs as I suddenly found myself among the ranks of the unemployed and seeking a new job.  I am pleased to say that I have a new job!  I’m thrilled to be back working and am so thankful that God has blessed me with a boss who is also a Christian.   God does not just meet the needs of us, he does so in a way that moves us deeper into his plan for our lives.

So the last few weeks have been full of all that new job stuff.  Getting used to the job duties and training, the new schedule (which changes from day-to-day and week to week) and the physical demands of going from a desk job to one where I am on my feet and moving all day.  Needless to say I’ve had some adjustments to make physically, mentally and financially.  My family, particularly my wife, also has had to adjust to my new schedule and routine.   After being home in the evenings for most of our marriage, to now working some evenings has taken some adjustment too.  All of that has left me kinda drained for writing and honestly I’ve had a big case of writers block.  Like an Everest size kind of writers block, so rather than fight it trying to ink something, anything, I followed some old writers advice and let it go and waited for it to start to break. Like our spring thaws here in Maine it finally began to break up.

So, after not quite 40 days of being in the writers desert I feel ready to return to the keyboard.  In a way it’s a perfect metaphor for these last few months of my life.

Don’t be obsessed with getting more material things. Be relaxed with what you have. Since God assured us, “I’ll never let you down, never walk off and leave you,” we can boldly quote,  God is there, ready to help;  I’m fearless no matter what.  Who or what can get to me?  Hebrews 13:4-6 (The Message)

In spite of all the difficulty the past few months have brought on there is one thing that absolutely is crystal clear.  In the middle of all that was life and the uncertainty God’s hand was upon my and my family.  At many times it seemed like we were in the desert and not sure where it would end, we clearly saw God’s hand at work day after day after day.  Now on the other side I/we can clearly say “Thank You” and know that He never left us or forsake us, ever.

About meicemen

Kind of ironic isn't it that you have to fit a few words about yourself into a small box..... I am so many things - a husband and father, an avid sports fan, coach, church planter in training. My blog A Million Points of Grace touches on many of these things that "make up me" and my Christian journey on this earth.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 40 Days in the Desert

  1. Davidson Plano says:

    There are some interesting points in this article. Good article, thanks and we wish more! Added to FeedBurner.

Leave a Reply

