What I Did On My Summer Vacation

Okay so maybe it wasn’t a true summer vacation but I case you didn’t notice it’s been a little sparse on the postings these past few weeks.  So, for lack of a better catchy headline I’m claiming my silence as a summer vacation from blogging of sorts. Yea, it’s a lame excuse but it’s what I’m going with.

Summer Sabbatical. I can’t take credit for the idea, it’s actually basically just how the past few weeks have panned out for me, but the idea of a summer break was actually floated in a blog post back in June by Bryan Daniels over on his blog Chief of the Least (which if you’re not reading you should be).

So now as kids everywhere across the country are returning to school ( 2 of mine started yesterday and my oldest starts college next week) I remember that wonderful first day of school assignment from the teacher when we were young “what did you do over your summer vacation”.  Thankfully we were too young back then to realize that she had failed to have a lesson plan ready for the first week so a round of summer show and tell would stall the class nicely for a couple of days.

So what have I been doing since I’ve not been writing?  Well I’m glad you asked.

As you know from my last posts, I got a new job!  A huge answer to all of our prayers came in June.  While it is for significantly less than what I had been earning, it is a job and it has benefits which so many folks in this economy still don’t have.

In addition to a new job, my oldest graduated from high school in June and starts college next week.  A real answer to prayer (not his graduating, although there were times we prayed over his middle and high school grades) is that after his financial package the remaining amount due this semester is $200.00   That’s right, only $200 bucks left after his aid package.  This is a huge answer to prayer as his aid was figured on my old income numbers so we could have seen a huge bill and did not.  Which with him getting his license this summer the costs for insurance a third car, etc all are factors that add a strain to our budget.

The biggest addition this summer was our church adding a Sunday night service which I have been blessed to take the lead on.  It has been a joy to be able to share a message most weeks with folks.  While there have been some challenges from work schedules, etc I believe that the service is a clear direction God wants our church to be taking and a role He was plans for me and my family in at some capacity.   All throughout the spring and summer both my wife and I have felt a call to begin exploring the church planting ministry.  While we are still praying and asking others to pray with us, we are looking at what life would be like if we were to be called into this vital work for the kingdom.  A particular southern city continues to come to us in various ways and we are praying for direction in knowing what direction to follow.

With fall returning I plan to return to posting on a more regular basis and sharing with you some of the things that I’ve been reading and studying over this summer.   I ask that you please keep me, my family and this blog in your prayers.   Winter in New England is never easy and we pray that God will provide your needs as a family and will continue to work in our local church and show us how we can serve him best.   While you’re praying for us, I’d love to pray for you.  Please drop me a comment or email or FB message with how we can be supporting you.

 

 

About meicemen

Kind of ironic isn't it that you have to fit a few words about yourself into a small box..... I am so many things - a husband and father, an avid sports fan, coach, church planter in training. My blog A Million Points of Grace touches on many of these things that "make up me" and my Christian journey on this earth.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

