Personal Theme Song

You remember that episode of Ally McBeal where Ally’s therapist tells her to pick one song as her own “personal theme song”, the one that she felt best fitted her and described her?  Other than the silly dancing baby it’s about the only thing I remember from that show which I know is not saying a whole lot, however the idea of a song for each of us is worth remembering.  If you had to sum up yourself in an average of 3 minutes or so how would do? Now before you start humming “I Will Survive” or “Eye of the Tiger” let me clarify, you have to give a summation of your spiritual life.   And the sound you now hear is the collective chirping of crickets as we all look at the floor or the ceiling or anywhere but back at ourselves and our own hearts.

What would you pick as the one song, your song, to best describe your currently walk with God?

Not as easy as it sounds is it?   One song to sum up your entire walk with Christ so that if anyone were to listen to it they would get an accurate picture of you and your faith in action.  I’m reminded of the words of Peter;

“But dedicate your lives to Christ as Lord. Always be ready to defend your
confidence [in God] when anyone asks you to explain it. However, make your
defense with gentleness and respect.”  – 1 Peter 3:15  (GOD’S WORD Translation 1995)

So what would you pick?  Would you go old school with a hymn from the past or perhaps pick a more modern tune?  Would you have a song at all?   Why is it easy for us to rattle of the titles of any number of songs to describe our secular life, but for most of us we have to stop and actually think about even just one for our spiritual life?  And shouldn’t our spiritual life be so intertwined with our very being and our core that there is not difference between our so-called secular self and our spiritual self?   Should be not be one and the same all with the sole purpose of furthering the Kingdom of Heaven and doing the work of a disciple?

I have to admit that for far too long in my life I would have had two different songs to match the two different sides of my life, my daily hope and prayer is that no longer would I be able to say that.   I pick TobyMac’s recent release Steal My Show as my personal theme.   I want to totally abandon my own agenda and be a servant of God.  Not any easy task but one that is so incredibly rewarding. It is far easier to get caught up in the “I Am” of ourselves than the “You Are” of total spiritual surrender and servanthood.

So what is your song?  And would anyone recognize it as yours if they hear it and would they want to sing along?

“My life
My plans
My heart
It’s all Yours, God
Take it away
My dreams
My fears
My family
My career
Take it away
Take it away
It’s all Yours, God
So take it away
Take it away
It’s You I wanna live for”

TobyMac – Steal My Show from the album Eye On It

About meicemen

Kind of ironic isn't it that you have to fit a few words about yourself into a small box..... I am so many things - a husband and father, an avid sports fan, coach, church planter in training. My blog A Million Points of Grace touches on many of these things that "make up me" and my Christian journey on this earth.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Personal Theme Song

  1. Denny says:

    Love it! I’ll have to think about my song. Let’s not wait another 3 months for your next blog please.

Leave a Reply

